So, in July if 2014 I experienced a hair catastrophe. Following a mini chop in July of 2014, where I tapered my hair due to extensive heat damage in the back I was forced to do another chop. I was already working on growing out my taper as i was limited in ways to style my hair and a tapered cut was not working out well for me. So, i had an event to attend in mid July and wanted to do a crochet style with human hair braiding hair ( mistake one). I watched a tutorial on YouTube ( which does not give you hair dresser status, but i did it anyway) in which a woman used nail glue ( I know!) to seal the knot in the hair. Unlike marley or other synthetic hairs, human braiding hair has a silky quality and can easily slip out and does not stay knotted on the cornrow braid. I used this technique. ( Like a dummy!) I ended up getting NAIL GLUE on my natural hair and to top it off, the style was not as i imagined and was a total FAIL. I proceeded to take the style down and to my HORROR the glue stuck to the roots of my hair and my scalp in some areas. Frustrated and sad I proceeded to cut and this was the final result.

no hair
no hair

I had not been this bald since chemo! I have done previous big chops due to damage but none this short. I felt like a boy and had a slight loss of confidence. I sucked it up and wore big earings and makeup and went on. Some people liked it , I myself felt naked. However I learned what works well with my hair. Other times i cut i never took the time to give my hair TLC. In an effort to gain length giving my hair TLC was a priority now. With that i was able to gain growth and over all and more importantly healthy hair. Six months later her is my fro

growth
growth

I have conquered the dryness and I have achieved thicker hair this go around. I am happy with where my hair is now.

If you big chopped and you feel as I did do not get discouraged. Keep it up, give your hair TLC and watch the lovely results.

Much Love

-CurlyGurl87

C